The Savings for Tomorrow program is available to participants in Big Horn, Carbon, Custer, Musselshell, Rosebud, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, or Yellowstone County. It is a matched savings program to help families and individuals save enough money for such things as buying a home, paying for post-secondary education or training, and starting or expanding a small business.

Who is eligible?

Participants must be age 18 or older, have a source of earned income, have less than $10,000 in assets (excluding home and one vehicle), and have a household gross income not exceeding 200% of the Federal Poverty Level.

How does the program work?

For a minimum of 6 months, you save a portion of your income in a special savings account, and for each $1 you save, HRDC matches it with $4. You will save $1,000 and earn a $4,000 match. When you reach your savings target, HRDC helps you use these funds to purchase your new asset. While in the savings program, you’ll also complete a range of personal finance activities to learn how to better manage your money.

Can I enroll in more than one savings program?

You can only enroll in one savings program at a time. However, a two income household may be able to dual-enroll in separate programs concurrently.

I was enrolled in one of HRDC’s savings programs before. Can I apply again?

There is an agency maximum of $8000 of match funding available per household. Each participant can complete the savings program once, maxing out at $4000.

How much do I need to save each month?

You must make a minimum deposit of $30 each month. At your enrollment meeting, you’ll work with a case manager to determine an appropriate amount based on your budget and your asset goal. We hope your savings will become a habit and a part of your normal monthly budget, even after you complete the program.


General Savings Program Application
Please call if you have any questions about the application.

For more information

Call (406) 206-2717 or Email


The Saving for Tomorrow program is funded in part through Assets for Independence Federal Demonstration project, Montana Homeownership Network, First Interstate Bank, United Way of Yellowstone County, and other generous contributors.